For years, the first floor of this 1839 home was the State Smoke Shop, a local gathering spot. Since 2009, part of this late Federal brick house, build of handmade brick by coach maker Cyrus West has been leased by Historic Salisbury Foundation for its protection and preservation. The house is presented as an example of preservation in process. Its second floor windows, doors, baseboards, attic and roof structure are virtually untouched from its construction 173 years ago. Leander Killian, M.D. had his medical office here in 1839 and merchant R.J. Swicegood lived here with his family. Don't miss this unusual house situated right in the middle of the commercial section of historic Main Street.
This property is located at 203 South Main Street, and is owned by Historic Salisbury
Yes, even factories have styles. This 1896 Victorian roller mill was built in the Second Empire style by Northside Roller Mill Company. Originally this feed, meal and flour mill was steam-powered. Between 1924 and 1927 it was converted to electrical power. The original three-story portion of the building is brick with granite trim, topped by a Mansard roof. It was expanded in 1906 with the addition of the large gable-roofed grain elevator with cupola. Surprisingly, most of the original belt-driven machinery for the six original roller mills remained intact and could be seen while touring the mill. The mill was operated by the Grimes family from 1906 to 1963 and continued functioning until 1982 when it was purchased by Historic Salisbury Foundation.
Grimes Mill was one of two roller mill museum in North Carolina and was located at 600 North Church Street. In the early morning hours of January 16, 2013, a devestating fire destroyed the mill.
Built in 1912 the Salisbury Ice & Fuel Company located at 224 East Horah Street in Salisbury, was just as an important community gathering spot like the post office or general store would have been. At one time up to 21 trucks delivered ice and fuel, such as coal and heating oils, to homes and industrial plants. In 1933, after prohibition ended, Salisbury Ice & Fuel Co. began distributing Lion Beer.
As with many ice and fuel companies technology like refrigeration helped push these businesses aside and by the 1960’s business had declined to the point of closure. In 1974 most of the building was demolished, all that remains is the main brick building and coal siding structure, once connected directly to the Southern Railway mainline, across the street from the brick building.
Historic Salisbury Foundation is currently looking to sustain this property through adaptive re-use and soon will open an Architecture Warehouse Store in the space. For more information on the Salisbury Ice & Fuel Company please follow the link below:
Built in the Spanish Mission style in 1908 from designs by architect Frank P. Milburn, the Salisbury Railway Passenger Station, located at 215 Depot Street in Salisbury, was a mainline station between Washington D.C. and Atlanta, GA and served as one of the region’s major thoroughfares. As the automobile industry grew, train travel declined, and the Salisbury Station was largely ignored. It lay vacant for many years becoming a victim of weather and neglect.
In 1976 the Salisbury Railway Passenger Station was recognized in the National Register of Historic Places. In 1984 Historic Salisbury Foundation, Inc. purchased the property from the North Carolina Railroad Company and the Norfolk Southern Company and took on the challenge of resurrecting this unique landmark.
Historic Salisbury Foundation spent over 3.1 million dollars to restore the Salisbury Station. Work was completed in three phases. The first phase in 1990 opened four office spaces. The second phase in 1993 opened the Grand Waiting Room with is special events spaces. And, in 1996, the Foundation completed the third phase of work for additional office space.
The Salisbury Railway Passenger Station now houses the offices for Historic Salisbury Foundation, Inc., the Salisbury Amtrak Station, and the unique art and creative learning environment of Salisbury Art Station. The property is a fine example of historic preservation and adaptive re-use.
More information about architect Frank P. Milburn and his designs.
The Salisbury Passenger Depot is also the subject of an exhibit at the Smithsonian Museum of American History.
226 South Jackson Street
Open for Tours - March thru December
Saturdays and Sundays - 1 to 4 p.m.
Built in 1820 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Dr. Josephus Hall House was originally constructed as classrooms for the Salisbury Female Academy (1820-1825). The Hall House became a residence in 1825 when local businessman Maxwell Chambers and his half-sister Rebecca Troy purchased the property and made it their home.
Dr. Josephus Hall purchased the home in 1859 and began to transform it into a grand Southern residence. The house served four generations of the Hall family before its purchase by Historic Salisbury Foundation in 1972, along with many of its original contents, from Hall’s great granddaughter.
Walk in the footsteps of the Hall family as you experience original furnishings, wallpapers, painted ceilings, and a desk used by Andrew Jackson when he studied law in Salisbury in the 1780’s. Stroll the grounds of the Hall House site where you will discover the restored kitchen building (ca. 1825), the restored slave dwelling (ca. 1825), and a cannon once used at Salisbury’s Civil War Prison. With nearly 200 years of history, the Hall House has many stories to share with its visitors.