There will not be Preservation Awards for 2018. Many projects are currently underway in Salisbury and Rowan County so the awards will be back in 2019!

Congratulations to all winners of HSF's 2017 Historic Preservation Awards

Thank you for the overwhelming response to this event. Our tickets are sold out!

814WMonroe BlockWork2016sm

Join us in saluting the 2017 Preservation Award Winners on May 25th at 6 p.m. at the Salisbury Station. Since 1983, Historic Salisbury Foundation has celebrated local historic preservation successes by presenting Preservation Awards to individuals, companies, and projects demonstrating various areas of excellence in preservation.  This event is typically held in May, which is National Preservation Month.

Suggestions are reviewed by a committee of preservation leaders throughout Rowan County.  Projects completed within the past three years in Rowan County and comply with the Secretary of Interior Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties are eligible to receive an award.  

HSF's Preservation Awards are made from bricks salvaged from the 1896 Grimes Mill, a roller mill which was lost to fire in January 2013. We are thrilled to announce the 2017 Preservation Award Winners!


 2017 Preservation Award Winners



Commercial Revitalization

--Amie and Tommy Baudoin for the renovation of the warehouse at 421 North Lee Street into Morgan Ridge Railwalk Brewery & Eatery.









Private Preservation & Neighborhood Revitalization

--Historic Neely School Foundation (Mary Grissom, president) for the restoration of Neely School, 150 Neelytown Road, China Grove;

--Steve and Sherry Beck for the exterior renovation of the Leo Wallace Sr. House, 301 West Fisher Street;

--Forrest and Marie Clanton for the exterior renovation of the Kritzer-Hatley House, 403 South Carolina Avenue, Spencer;

--Livingstone College (Jimmy R. Jenkins, president and Reginald Dickens, project manager) for the rehabilitation of the Lynch-Nicholson House, 624 West Monroe Street;

--Justin Williams for the exterior renovation of the Heilig-Dyer Rental House, 313 West Thomas Street;

--Lewellyn and Clyde Padgett for the adaptive reuse of the old dry cleaning building located at 323 West Harrison Street into a residence;

--Todd Littleton for the renovation of 113 East Fisher Street, which houses the City Tavern restaurant; and,

--The City of Salisbury (Karen Alexander, mayor and Lynn Raker, consultant) for BlockWork 2016’s neighborhood revitalization work in the 800-900 blocks of West Monroe Street.




Community Preservation

--The Blanche and Julian Robertson Family Foundation (Margaret Kluttz, chair and Jason Walser, project manager) for the repair and stabilization of the Bell Tower; and,

--N.C. Transportation Museum (Kelly Alexander, executive director and J.R. Ayash, project manager) for the renovation of the Back Shop to accommodate more visitors and increase exhibit space.











Preservation Education and Publications

--Chris Hartley for his book, "Stoneman's Raid, 1865"; and,

--Dr. Gary Freeze for ten years as a lecturer for the Rowan County History Course.






Texas on turntable1sm



Special Restoration

--Steam Operations Corporation and Atlanta History Center for the restoration of 1856 steam engine, “the Texas”, well known for its role in the Great Locomotive Chase of the Civil War.



     Rich Dietrich

The Doug Black Volunteer of the Year

--Rich Dietrich for his work above and beyond as member of "Black's Brigade".


Special Recognition

--The 10th Anniversary of the Rowan County History Class, a joint project of Historic Salisbury Foundation and the Rowan Museum. Barbara Upright, History Class Committee chair, Reginald Brown, Kaye Hirst, Terry Holt, Aaron Kepley, Anne Lyles, and Andy and Mary Walker, committee members.




Successful preservation projects require the work of a team of professionals as well as long time advocates and supporters. Often, one of more of those individuals, groups or businesses is critical to the success of the project. This year’s Preservations Awards Committee will recognize and give special citations to those whose work has been outstanding and/or instrumental in making the preservation project a reality.

For the Neely School: Alfred C. Wilson and Co. for the work on the moving and restoration of the school building.

For the Lynch-Nicholson House: Alfred C. Wilson and Co. for the exterior work; Central Piedmont Builders for the interior work; Tom Ford for the restoration of the stained-glass window; and, Next Generation Painting for interior and exterior painting.

For BlockWork 2016: the Housing Advocacy Commission (Barbara Perry, chair), co-sponsor; the Community Appearance Commission (Diane Hundley, chair), co-sponsor; Livingstone College, co-sponsor; and, Medina Construction Company for their work on 4 roofs and 6 facades of the BlockWork houses.

For the Bell Tower: George Kluttz for his persistent advocacy for the repairs and stabilization work; the City of Salisbury for its work in making the project happen; Andy Eller for his work as structural engineer; and, Alfred C. Wilson and Co. for the stabilization and repair work.